Glimpse toward Christmas

Unedited Story: 15 to 20 minute challenge at a Writers MeetUp

write a Christmas Narrative from the perspective of someone present at the time…

CCW2023

Tuesday 21st November 2023


Glimpse toward Christmas

Excited didn’t begin to explain how I felt. I had hidden behind the others when their journey started – now we were zooming along to planet Earth (whatever that was), to sing a sort of concert. Not sure I have really understood what is happening.

We arrived, sang to what might have been sheep, I’d seen pictures of those before. I saw wingless angels take off running. I hadn’t thought the singing was that bad. I decided to follow them, no one would miss me. I wasn’t supposed to be there.

Drone like I flew overhead, they ran finally dodged behind a hotel to a stable.

In we went, I got the shock of my life and I’m in for it now. There in the stable on a dirty bundle of hay in a manger was someone I recognised! God’s Son. But he was in the body of a baby! He looked straight at me…


All stories and doodles on Tread Doodle & Scrawl unless otherwise attributed are authored or drawn by and ©️ of Dominic Barton